My Art and I
Comments 2

Where do you find your inspiration?

 

 

Image

Inspiration (literally meaning “to breathe into”) refers to an unconscious burst of creativity in a literary, musical, or other artistic endeavour – Wikipedia (of course).

But where do we find it, and what can we do to facilitate it?

From my point of view, there is nothing more satisfying than being completely absorbed in painting something beautiful and watching my own little colourful world come to life on a previously blank canvas.  Having said that, creative inspiration is magical when I have it, and frustrating as can be when I don’t.  As a part time artist, I have committed myself to spending as much time as I possibly can in pursuit of my work.  But sometimes, when I get in from the day job it can be a struggle to switch into ‘arty mode’ and force myself to paint.  No matter how hard I remind myself that I HAVE to stay focused and I HAVE to paint if I want to make my dream a full time reality, sometimes a stern word is just not enough.  I need inspiration.  So here’s a few things that I do when I’m having one of those days where I want to throw my paint brush across the room whilst a little voice in my head tells me I’m rubbish (believe me, I am positive that I am not the only artist who experiences these insecurities…)

1) One of the most important things for me is just to be outside, and  I am very easily pleased by the sky.  As simple as it sounds, I have always been transfixed and inspired by just how beautiful it can be.  And if you really think about it, how often can you see the same sky twice? To me, it’s almost like a painting, but one that the artist is forever working on.  It’s continually changing. New clouds are continuously shifting and dancing across it, with different bursts of colour and streaks of light every day as it turns from morning to night.  It is one of my greatest inspirations, and one of the most beautiful things the world has to offer an artist. 

Image

 

2) Inextricably linked to my need to be outside for inspiration, is my need to explore new places.  I spent a year travelling around Australia, New Zealand and Bali, and whilst this was the most inspiring and amazing experience of my life, it’s not something I can just repeat when I’m in need of an creative boost!  So recently I’ve started getting my bike out, picking a direction, and cycling in it.  I’m fortunate enough to live in a pretty little part of Warwickshire where there are plenty of country lanes and colourful fields to explore…I feel like this is ‘charging my creative batteries’.  

Image

3) What would a little post on sources of inspiration be without a reference to music.  Depending on what mood I’m in, music can really energise my creative output.  The days when I’m feeling immeasurably positive that ‘maybe, just maybe’ my art career looks like it could one day become a full time reality means my work is fuelled by ‘feel good happy’ songs.  And as an artist who likes to paint happy colourful pictures, this is very important!  Those other days, where the frustration of feeling like I’m ‘shovelling snow when it’s still snowing’ (i.e. I could continue to work relentlessly hard with no art career to show for it) undoubtedly benefits from the more ’emo’ music (for want of a better word) to spur me on. 
4)  Finally, the most powerful source of inspiration to me is my desire to do this every day for the rest of my life. There is no greater encouragement than the tantalising prospect of turning a life long dream into a reality.  
Image
 
Image
‘If you can dream it, you can do it’- Walt Disney

‘Don’t watch the clock; do what it does. Keep going’ – Sam Levenson

http://www.emilylouiseheard.com

Much love, 

Emily x

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Holly says

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful post- your work is incredible! I love your point about the sky. I have often felt the sky is one of the most spectacular sites. Another way I personally find inspiration is through pinterest believe it or not. I browse photographs of scenes I like; of nature and portraits and tin coffee cups. I then put the pieces of what I like together to create something my own. 🙂 For me, my biggest inspiration comes through my faith, and the wheel of emotions it creates.
    I love your work, and I wish you the best in your pursuit of a full time career. I’m only in high school, but if you’d like to check out my work, my blog is theamateurartistblog.wordpress.com. thanks! 🙂

    • Hi Holly- thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and for your lovely lovely comments! Pinterest is a very good point! They have some beautiful photos 🙂 I will check out your blog now! Emily x

Leave a Reply

