Inspiration, Learning how to take photos
Comments 15

The Gift Of Photography

IMG_1669

As an artist who is relatively new to sharing my art via the internet, I soon realised that it is VITAL to be able to take high quality photographs of my work in order to share them with others.  It was almost pointless sharing my slightly blurred, low quality phone-camera images because they simply did not do my work justice.   Luckily, I am fortunate enough to have a very supportive and generous man in my life who happened to beautifully surprise me with a DSLR for my birthday.  Yipeee! Needless to say I was absolutely delighted, and immediately began taking millions photographs of my art and its processes. Whilst my new toy seemed to do the job perfectly, I have not really ventured away from the safe little green button- AUTO.  In fact, I had not really taken pictures of anything OTHER than my art.  It occurred to me that this was, and still is, ridiculous.  This piece of equipment is expertly designed and capable of taking some breath taking images (in the right hands of course).   I decided that I was not letting the camera spread its little wings and realise its full potential.  How cruel! So I took it on a walk with me this weekend to see what it can do.

I will admit that I purposely did not read any ‘how to’ or instructions prior to this.  These photos are simply the work of someone who has NO IDEA how to use a DSLR, and as such, are probably awkward and unimpressive.  BUT before you immediately stop reading at the thought of uninspiring images, I did this for a reason. I thought it would be interesting to see the BEFORE and AFTER impact that good advice and research has on my photos.  I hope to share any lessons I learn along the way with other newbie photographers 🙂

IMG_2073

 

IMG_2108

 

IMG_2083

Yes, I have also experimented with a little bit of photo editing software too 🙂

 

IMG_2062

 

IMG_2081

 

IMG_2003

 

IMG_2052

 

IMG_1990

 

 

 

IMG_1985

 

IMG_1979

 

IMG_1575

 

IMG_1573

 
Big cuddles and hugs,

Emily x

15 Comments

  1. Charlotte booth says

    Have you been studying the rule of the thirds astounding seen to have an eye for it in these pics xx

    • Aww they are pretty wonderful- if not a bit mind boggling at the moment!! I had wanted one for a long time before my boyfriend surprised me with one for my birthday 🙂

      • I can only imagine 🙂 I’m sure there are PLENTY of great blogs dedicated to DSLR techniques. I’m looking forward to seeing many great photographs from you in the future!

      • There are 🙂 its quite overwhelming the amount of information out there! My brother is a good photographer so I may give him a visit soon for practical advice (sometimes I find it easier to be shown than to read) thank you for having a read of my post 🙂

      • I would have to agree that hands on is the best way to learn. Good luck to you and of course, I love reading your posts 🙂

  2. Pingback: What you don’t learn in a Photography school INayan Hazra Photography

Leave a Reply

