Inspiration, My Art and I
Leave a Comment

Painting a cuddle from the past- A treasured commission

Beautiful sandcastle painting- oil on canvas.  Emily Louise Heard Art

Beautiful sandcastle painting- oil on canvas. Emily Louise Heard Art

One of the greatest joys of being an artist is painting something that not only makes you happy, but makes others very happy too.  For me, there is no greater satisfaction in life than painting something that truly puts a smile on somebody’s face (as cheesy as that may sound).

A few months ago I received an email from a lady who was interested in commissioning a painting of someone very special to her. It would be in memory of her little girl who sadly passed away from brain cancer several years ago.  She hoped that I would be able to paint an image that would capture her daughter’s spirit.  From her lovely emails which described this bubbly and unique little girl who adored purple, glitter and the beach, I knew I had my work cut out.  But being asked to capture such a beautiful image of such a special little girl was a gift I was completely honoured by.  So I put a brush to canvas, and I got to work.  Here is the development of one of the most humbling commissions I have ever been asked to complete, from the blank beginning to the finished piece.

How to start a painting- Emily Louise Heard

How to start a painting- Emily Louise Heard

An acrylic under painting- Emily Louise Heard art

An acrylic under painting- Emily Louise Heard art

Painting a second layer of acrylic paint- Emily Louise Heard

Painting a second layer of acrylic paint- Emily Louise Heard

Artist at work

Artist at work- Adding oil paints. Emily Louise Heard

Painting sunset with oils- Emily Louise Heard

Painting sunset with oils- Emily Louise Heard

Painting sunset with oils- Emily Louise Heard

Painting sunset with oils- Emily Louise Heard

wpid-img_13480293233059.jpeg

A beautiful sunset painting- Fairy wings- Emily Louise Heard

Lyn and Richard ready to be rehomed.jpg 2 USE

A beautiful commission- Oil on canvas- Emily Louise Heard

I was lucky enough to meet the lady who commissioned me in person when she came with her partner to collect the artwork  Their delighted reaction and words that the painting was like a ‘cuddle from the past’ is precisely why I paint.  And why I plan on spending the rest of my life painting 🙂

Please follow the link below to learn more about the little girl in my painting, Jennifer, and the charity that has been set up by her parents in her honour to raise awareness about brain cancer.

http://www.clownsinthesky.org/

Emily x

Leave a Reply

